AsianInvestor won two out of six major awards for institutional journalism yesterday.

Jame DiBiasio was cited for his outstanding contribution to institutional journalism at the inaugural State Street Press Awards Asia-Pacific.

The five independent judges unanimously voted for DiBiasio for his role in helping found AsianInvestor in 2000, creating an online and print publication that has raised the editorial commitment to quality and high standards.

He also was named Journalist of the Year for pensions issues, based on feature stories including coverage of the AIJ scandal’s impact on Japanese retirement schemes and the introduction of limited employee choice for Hong Kong’s Mandatory Provident Fund.

It was a good day for Haymarket Financial Titles, publishers of AsianInvestor, FinanceAsia and Corporate Treasurer.

Rupert Walker, associate editor at FinanceAsia, was awarded Best Editorial Comment, for his work on regulation and critiques of public figures such as Nobel Prize economics winner Joseph Stiglitz.

Daniel Flatt, editor of Corporate Treasurer, was highly commended for best editorial comment under the pseudonym Clipper, including coverage of the politics behind New York’s charges against Standard Chartered over allowing cash transfers to Iran.

This is the first year State Street has sponsored its institutional press awards in Asia, attracting 91 submissions for seven categories from across the region. The London-based version of the awards are in their second decade. One category had no winner, leaving six main awards – with Haymarket editors taking half.