AI’s 2016 Institutional Excellence awards

AsianInvestor has launched its third round of annual Institutional Excellence awards. We welcome pitches from the region's outstanding asset owners, as well as nominations.
AI’s 2016 Institutional Excellence awards

On August 1, AsianInvestor launched its annual awards programme designed to recognise excellence and best practice among institutional investors across Asia Pacific. This year we have added two award categories.

This marks the third year for these awards, which is dedicated to asset owners, a group encompassing many of the region’s biggest and most sophisticated investors. To see the full list of winners from last year, click here. Photos from the second Institutional Excellence awards dinner can be found here.

These awards are open to all institutional investors across Asia Pacific, including pension funds, sovereign wealth funds, central banks, insurance companies and other official institutions – large or small. In all there are 18 awards, as follows:

Institutional categories
Central bank; Insurance company; Corporate pension fund; Endowment; Public pension fund; Sovereign wealth fund; Individual contribution to institutional investment (new) 

Market categories
Australia/New Zealand; China; Hong Kong; Japan; Southeast Asia; South Korea; Taiwan (new)

Regional categories
Governance; Innovation; Investment capabilities; Social responsibility

We have weighted four areas of qualitative judgement. The aim is to understand and compare tangible progress as an investing entity, rather than to pick winners based on arbitrary snapshots of fund performance.

The awards nomination process starts today and runs until Friday, August 24. There are several ways to apply and all submissions are treated in strict confidence.

All institutions listed in AsianInvestor’s annual ranking of the top 300 asset owners will be invited to nominate themselves, and smaller institutions are also encouraged to apply.

For self-nominations, send an email to [email protected], outlining why you think you deserve recognition. No self-nominations will be made public.

We also welcome nominations from third parties, including fund managers, consultants, custodians and other organisations. Again, please submit your nomination to [email protected].

AsianInvestor has designed a questionnaire around key qualitative factors to ensure a uniform approach to each asset owner. This explains the information we are looking for and details our weighting scheme.

Institutions and nominators are welcome to write to [email protected] to obtain a copy. Asset size is not a criteria.

Nominees may either fill in the questionnaire, as mentioned above, or we can schedule an interview by phone or in person. Requesting the questionnaire will at least let you know what information we require.

The interview process will be a brief, off-the-record discussion with nominees related to our awards criteria.

AsianInvestor’s editorial team may also shortlist asset owners at its own discretion.

AsianInvestor will invite a panel of experienced industry participants to provide feedback on responses we have gathered through nominations or our own research. They will act as a de facto judging panel and will remain anonymous.

The nomination process will run until Friday, September 9. Thereafter our journalists will shortlist asset owners and interview them. We will announce the winners in the week starting Monday October 3.

All of the winners will be invited to attend our Institutional Excellence Awards dinner on Wednesday, 30 November in Singapore.

For sponsorship opportunities or to enquire about attendance, please contact AsianInvestor's commercial director Terry Rayner on +852 3175 1963 or by email at [email protected].

Photos of the event and detailed explanations of the reasons for our choices will appear in the February 2017 edition of AsianInvestor magazine.

¬ Haymarket Media Limited. All rights reserved.