Institutional Excellence Awards 2020: Market Winners

AsianInvestor is announcing the winners of its seventh Institutional Excellence Awards. We begin by unveiling the top asset owners in each major Asia Pacific market.
Institutional Excellence Awards 2020: Market Winners

AsianInvestor today announces the first set of recipients of its seventh annual Institutional Excellence Awards, which are designed to recognise the region's leading asset owners in terms of their capabilities and investing prowess across Asia Pacific. 

This first set of awards reveal the winning institutional organisations by market. We will follow with winners by asset owner type on Thursday (December 17), and conclude with winners by proficiency on Friday (December 18). 

Recipients in the market categories are recognised for excellence against their peers in their local market or region. The institutional set-up and objectives of asset owners can vary widely even within geographic areas, as can the level of sophistication and the speed with which investment processes evolve.


New Zealand Super Fund

China Pacific Insurance Company

Government Pension Investment Fund

Public Officials Benefit Association


These awards are not designed merely to choose the most advanced investors in each institutional investor class, but to recognise asset owners that continue to push themselves to improve, or to make deliberative efforts to become more sophisticated, process-driven investors with an eye towards long-term returns. 

To decide on the recipients of these awards, our editorial team requested direct input from an array of leading asset owners across the region. We then discussed these nominations with a panel of  expert anonymous judges, drawn from the Asia investment industry. In addition, we canvassed the views of senior executives at fund management firms, consultancies, banks and other service providers, and conducted internal research, before making our final decisions. 

AsianInvestor would like to thank our judges for their time and candour, along with the many people throughout the region who helped us in this awards process.

Complete write-ups explaining our decisions and profiling these institutions will appear online early in 2021, and will also be presented in the Winter 2020/2021 print edition of AsianInvestor.

Winners who are interested in receiving a physical award or wish to assistance in publicising news of their success should speak to AsianInvestor's publisher Tom Griffin, at [email protected].

¬ Haymarket Media Limited. All rights reserved.