Institutional Excellence Awards 2018: Category winners

AsianInvestor unveils the winners of its fifth annual Institutional Excellence Awards. In the second announcement, we reveal the outstanding asset owners by institutional type.
Institutional Excellence Awards 2018: Category winners

AsianInvestor today announces the second set of recipients of its fifth annual Institutional Excellence Awards, designed to recognise the region's leading asset owners in terms of their capabilities and investing prowess across Asia Pacific. 

Today's set of awards reveal the winning organisations by institutional category. We began yesterday with best asset owner by market, and will conclude on Monday with winners by proficiency. 
Recipients in the institutional investor categories are recognised for excellence against their peers in their local market or region. Differences in institutional set-up and objectives can vary widely even within these geographic categories, and measuring progress can vary from months to years.
Reserves Management Institution
Hong Kong Monetary Authority 
Sovereign Wealth Fund
New Zealand Super
Pension Fund
Insurance Company
To be announced at the awards dinner
International Investor into Asia Pacific (new category)
Canada Pension Plan Investment Board
To decide on the recipients of these awards, our editorial team requested direct input from an array of leading asset owners across the region.
We then canvassed senior executives at fund management firms, consultancies, banks and other service providers for their expertise, to generate a shortlist of asset owners deserving of recognition. We then, where necessary, requested additional information from short-listed institutions, before making our final decisions.   
AsianInvestor would like to thank the many people throughout the region who helped us for their time and candour.
Asia Pacific is a region with highly diverse asset owners of varying sophistication, capabilities and objectives. These awards are not designed to merely to choose the most advanced investors in each institutional investor class, but to recognise asset owners that continue to push themselves to improve, or to maintain a standard of market excellence over long periods of time. 

In some cases the awards recognise asset owners that have made incremental improvements. In other cases they highlight organisations that embody regional or even global capabilities. Our focus particularly emphasised the internal capabilities of asset owners and their ability to adapt to long-term changes in market return expectations.

All award recipients will be invited to attend our Institutional Excellence Awards black-tie dinner on Wednesday, December 5 at the Westin Singapore. This will run in conjunction with the 10th annual Southeast Asia Institutional Investment Forum, taking place on December 5 and December 6 at the same venue. 
Complete write-ups explaining our decisions and profiling these institutions will appear online in the coming weeks, and will be presented in the December 2018/January 2019 print edition of AsianInvestor.

For details on attending our Institutional Excellence Awards dinner, please contact AsianInvestor's commercial director Tom Griffin, at [email protected].
For more information about the Southeast Asia Institutional Investment Forum, please contact AsianInvestor's head of conferences Andrew Crooke, at [email protected]


¬ Haymarket Media Limited. All rights reserved.